Since I’ve now got the back-none of the software created, I’m now in the process of designing and building the circuit that will be used in the final system.

Things are still currently on breadboard, but surprisingly the circuit seems to be working well!

The circuit comes from Kolban’s Book on the ESP8266 and ESP32 which gives a good circuit for programming the ESP-12E board (and ESP-1). I’m using the Arduino IDE to build and flash the “sketch” and so far it seems to be working well. The book is certainly worth a read and it has made me want to start programming using the Eclipse SDK, but maybe another day.

I’ve had to adapt the circuit for the I2C chips and the rotary encoder. The circuit diagram can be seen below, but I’ve also uploaded the EagleCAD schematic to my Github project page if anyone want to use it. There’s no PCB layout at the moment as I’m still working on improving the circuit on the breadboard.

Full Circuit Diagram

Circuit diagram for wireless temperature sensor

This all appears to be working on my breadboard, but I wish the ESP-12E was much more breadboard friendly than it is! Given all the messy wires from the board, I’m amazed that I actually managed to get it working for about a week without any issues…

img_20160401_151140.jpg

Breadboard circuit.

Anyway, above you can see my messy breadboard circuit. As you can see the ESP-12E really isn’t breadboard friendly…

I was tempted to go veroboard next, but I think I’ll go straight to making a single sided, milled PCB. So need to get started on creating a few more Eagle library components as I still can’t find one for the OLED module!

